Prepare. Prepare. PREPARE!

Being healthy means that you have to prep just about everything. Your gym bag, your lunch, your snacks, your water bottle.. Yes, everything. And it can be a hassle I know, believe me I know. Not only do I have to make sure that I have my backpack together and all of the folders that I’ll need for the next day, but I also have to make sure that I have my gym bag packed. Complete with clothes to wear for the day, towel/toiletries so that I can shower post workout, workout clothes and gym shoes! Then I need to make sure that I have a lunch packed, and depending on the day maybe a few snacks and possibly dinner! Phew. That’s a lot.

So what does that mean? Well, let me tell you.. I NEVER do that stuff in the morning. None of it. I make sure that everything is packed the evening before, because if it’s not I’m bound to forget something and knowing me it’ll be something that I really need.

It also means that I have to spend a few hours (give or take) on Sunday to make sure that I have everything that I need for the busy week ahead. This week it meant cooking my breakfast (PaleOMG’s Apple Butternut Squash Hash) so that I would have breakfast ready all week long and that I wouldn’t wake up in the morning starving with no time to make anything.

I also made sure to write a ‘daily menu’ so that I have an idea as to what I’ll be cooking each day. I like to cook big things at night so that way I can take leftovers in for lunch the next day. That can be seen on my ‘menu’, dinner one day is usually the same thing as the following day’s lunch.

Also, by writing out what I’m going to make for the week I know what I need to buy at the grocery store and won’t over spend. Being a graduate student, money is something that I need to make sure I don’t spend where it’s not needed. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy myself every now and then, but I do like to make sure that I don’t buy something at the grocery store and then it ends up going bad because I don’t have the time to make it.

That being said, I need to get my things together so that I can go to bed and get up and to the gym in the AM.

-B

Leave a Reply

