Not Always Paleo- WIAW

It’s Wednesday! A special thanks to Jenn over at Peas and Crayons for hosting yet another What I Ate Wednesday! Head over soon to check out what she has to offer!!

It may come to a surprise to some of you, but I don’t ALWAYS eat paleo. Of course, by not always it means that sometimes I just really want something non-paleo. Usually when that mood strikes I just fight the urge, but sometimes I give in. Other times it’s just not practical to eat paleo, namely at the bar.. Since this past weekend was one that was full of green beer, food and friends, I tired not to get too down on myself for not choosing a paleo dish.

So lets start with Saturday.

Welcome to my St Patrick’s Day!! So, I started the day (well, started the drinking part of the day) by making some PALEO meatballs. (I DO try to eat strictly when I’m home, that way a little ‘mess up’ when I’m out I don’t feel bad about.) They were delicious, Greek Paleo Meatballs.. Well, they would have been better if I would have had a zester.. let me tell you, zesting a lemon with a knife is NOT fun.. It alway leads to big chunks of lemon zest, which of course means sometimes you have quite the lemon flavor.. Note to self: use one of my BB&B 20% off coupons for a zester!

Alright. Moving on. Then when we went to the bar (me, my boyfriend, and one of our couple friends) and I knew I needed to eat sometime if I was going to last even part of the night.. Seriously, graduate school is not like undergrad, I can’t drink NEARLY as much as I used to. Anyways, so I was looking at the menu cursing myself for not having something in my purse when I saw that they had gluten free chicken tenders.. SOLD! Yes, I know that they’re not paleo, but I was assured that they weren’t fried. Aka: Probably the healthiest thing on this bar menu! Got some regular mustard to dip them in and ate. every. single. one!

So. I said I didn’t eat all paleo.. well if you follow me on Instrgram (@DetroitHealthy) you would have seen the other delicious non-paleo foods that I had this past weekend. But incase you haven’t gotten around to following me yet (go do it now!) here is what you were missing!

Allow me to introduce you to a Sausage, Egg, & Cheese Bagel from Bruegger’s Bagels, and Blueberry Pancakes from The Original Pancake House. Neither which are paleo, both of which were yummy. I did have to take a lactaid for the cheese with the bagel, but it was Sunday morning (aka: post drinking) and I needed something to help soak up the alcohol that was surely still in my system. Then the pancakes were from Monday morning when my boyfriend decided that he wanted to take me out to breakfast before I went to class. Since I live by The Original Pancake House and we could NEVER go on the weekends before I went paleo due to the LONG LONG line, it just seemed to be the right thing to do.

Lesson to learn? Paleo is a LIFESTYLE. So to me, that means that just because I had what some would call a ‘slip up’ doesn’t mean that it has to through off how I continue to eat. I mean, Monday for lunch I had a strictly paleo meal, same went for dinner. This doesn’t just apply to being paleo, it applies to any ‘diet’ or ‘lifestyle change’! Don’t let the few indulgences set you back! They are what make us remember why we started doing what we’re doing in the first place!!

3 thoughts on “Not Always Paleo- WIAW

  1. It is nice to give yourself a little break here and there. I much like you give myself a break from my regular eating habits when we go out. I feel it actually makes me a healthier person. Everything in moderation. 🙂
    I have to say I love Bruegger’s Bagels, they are seriously the best and the Original Pancake House you can’t beat that. Next time you go you have to try the 49’ers they are delicious.
    Those meatballs looks great I am going to hopefully make those this weekend. Thanks.

  2. I’m the same way! Since I’m not paleo for specific health concerns, I try to eat paleo 100% when at home but try to give myself leeway when away. It seems to work well for me! Gotta have a bagel every now and again!

Leave a Reply

