Getting Serious about Triathlons

So as you all know I’ve been training to do triathlons for some time.. But now I’ve taken it to a whole new level.. I’ve hired a coach. Yes, a coach. I know what you’re thinking. “A coach, how do you afford one? Why do you need one? Aren’t you athletic?” Well yes I’m athletic, but I decided to invest in one so that I can get structured workouts to learn now to train for three sports.

 

The problem is that, even though I’ve ran and cycled before, I’ve never had to train for three sports at once. I have NO idea how to train for three at a time, along with caring for an injury and making sure I take the correct rest days.

 

So what am I doing? Well, after a lot of emails I found a lady at P.R. Fitness that is going to train me. Since the gym is based out of Ann Arbor I’m doing what they call the “Just Tri” package that will allow me to get online schedules, and then I can add on different services. These can be things like one-on-one coaching, or drop-in classes at the gym!

 

 

So how does the online schedule work? Well it’s easy, I have a TrainingPeaks account and they can connect to it to give me workouts. So easy!

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 8.32.45 AM

 

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 8.32.52 AM

 

 

So that’s my schedule for this week. After I do each activity I’m supposed to give ‘post activity’ feedback so if something is too hard, or I don’t have time for that workout on a certain day then I’m able to tell her and she can change my schedule accordingly!

 

So if you can’t tell, I’m SO excited! I love knowing that I have a coach, plus she’s AMAZING! My mom and I met with her yesterday and she seems like the PERFECT fit for me!! I would love one day to do exactly what she’s doing.. But in the meantime, I’m going to get my PhD in Chemistry and go from there. πŸ˜‰

 

Speaking of which, I need to head into campus!

HAVE A GREAT MONDAY EVERYONE!

Leave a Reply

