What have I been up to?

So I feel like lately all I’ve been doing is talking to you guys on Wednesday and Friday. Well, I decided that I needed to check in with you guys to know how my training/eating is going outside of WIAW and Friday Facts.

So, let’s start with training! If you follow me on Instagram (DetroitHealthy) or on Twitter (@DetroitHealthy) you’d have seen that it’s been going great! Running, swimming, and cycling! Obviously. I mean that’s what triathletes do, right?! I have decided that I need to start going to the gym again to lift. Not at lot, but some to start to get more muscle definition again. I was doing so well for a while, but then I stopped. So yea, tomorrow I’m going to start going again. Even if it’s just for an hour in the morning to lift and do abs before heading into work.

Other than that, following my training plan on TrainingPeaks is perfect! Sometimes it’s easier to be told what to do than to have to think it up all by yourself! I mean, check out what I did last week!

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 10.22.01 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 10.22.12 AM

My next race is June 16th the Motor City Triathlon! Don’t worry, I’ll hear about it more before and get a full race recap after! =]

So the next thing that I wanted to tell you guys about is my plans to have a garden this summer!! YAY! So, you all know that I’ve been paleo since February, but this summer I’m going to take it to almost a level of insanity by having my very own garden! Ok. I’m honestly SOOO excited it’s not even funny! It’s going to cut down on food costs in the summer (and the winter too since my sister is going to help me can some of my crop!!) AND it gives me a reason to HAVE to be outside during the week! STOKED!

A friend and I are moving at the beginning of June to a little house around the Ferndale area. LUCKY for us, there is enough grass in the back that we’ll be able to have some small Square Foot Gardens!  I’ve planned mine out to be 6′ by 3′. I’m sure she’ll have one about the same size! (Side note: this little place means that I FINALLY get to bring my dog to live with me! My mother is overly excited about that!) So check out what I have planned!

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 12.18.48 PM

 

(Ok, so this is changing about every 15minutes, but it’ll be something like this.. with a few more potted plants!)

Awesome right!? I know that I’m going to be SO proud of my  little garden! Plus my boyfriend is excited about it because he loves fresh tomatoes! Honestly I don’t really like tomatoes unless they’re in a soups/stew or something like that. He’s convinced, however, that I’ll love fresh ones. So I’m going to give them a shot! The grape tomatoes are for him, where as the bigger ones are for me to can or use in stews. I guess he’ll also get some for sandwiches. Yes, I know, I’m such a nice girlfriend aren’t I? =]

But honestly, I just want to move into our new place now so I can get my garden planted! I have to buy the wood and stuff to make my garden first however. Since we’re renting this place I figured I’d make it a raised bed garden, which is how I came across the term “square foot gardening” in the first place. I could go on and on about how excited I am to have a garden AND to get to can my OWN vegetables! But I won’t bore you with the details until I have a post dedicated to them.

Have a great Monday, everyone!! =]

4 thoughts on “What have I been up to?

  1. Fresh tomatoes are awesome!!

    Do you have a plan for this garden? I usually just plant things along the side of my fence, but would love some more room.

    I did green peppers, tomatoes, cukes, and spaghetti squash last year.. Tomatoes grow like weeds (i think they’re hard to mess up), my green peppers barely sprouted, the cucumbers got eaten before I could pick them, and the spaghetti squash were so tiny I wasn’t sure if they were safe to eat!

    But congrats on the house and it is so fun to grow your own food!!

    • I’m going to get a timeline for when stuff should harvest and all that when I finally get it planted! We’re going to be planting pretty late (probably June 15th), so I’m going to try to get plants that have already started to grow a bit..

      Don’t worry, you guys will hear ALL about it.. I’m so excited! =]

  2. Definitely see if you can get some pallets to use for the beds, my hubby did that for our garden this year and we saved so much money, you just have to check and make sure the wood is not treated (most of the time pallets aren’t because they are so cheap and usually just get tossed). A lot of trucking companies/big businesses will just put them out at the side of the road. You should also do some basil with the tomatoes! You can freeze it, make pesto or put in the sauce! Good luck!

    • Thanks, I’ll definitely look into the pallets! Especially since I work at a University and can probably just walk around campus to find some!!

      And I have a small pot of herbs, but I’ll have to make sure I have basil too! That’ll definitely help with making some tomato sauce!

Leave a Reply

