Today’s Race Day!!

So, as you’re reading this I’m either racing (if you’re an early bird) or have already raced.. I figured I’d give you the maps and all of that jazz so you could picture the race, even if you’re not there to cheer me on! 😉 .. So you will all have an idea as to what I’m talking about this week when I do my race recap.. So lets go through this one by one..

Swim:

Screen Shot 2013-06-13 at 3.27.19 PM

As I stated on Friday, I’m doing the SPRINT triathlon today.. For this race, that will consist of a 500m swim (about 550yards for all of you swimmers out there).  The website has this to say about the swim…

“The swim is always the question in new athletes minds, but is also the reason why this event has grown each year and has been chosen as Michigans’ Best of the US race year after year. The water has been tested to be among the cleanest in the entire state. The reason is it is constantly moving, you can see the bottom 20 feet down.”

T1: The transitions in this race are going to be different.. Like honestly, they’re in different places.. So at T1 you have to put your stuff into a bag (or your own.. I have this nice bag that I plan on stuffing my wetsuit into the bottom so I know it’s safe!) and they’ll transport it over to T2/The finish line.

Bike:

Screen Shot 2013-06-13 at 3.33.08 PM

I’ll be doing the 20K bike (12.4miles), which will consist of two loops around Belle Isle. I’m so happy that I got to ride the Isle on Tuesday, because I know that I can KILL the bike today!! From what I know, it looks like we’ll start at the green icon, then I’ll pass that spot again then take that inside loop at the bottom left of the picture to go into T2.

In the words of the website, “The bike is awesome because it is closed and offers some great scenery with ships,Windsor Canada and Detroit on each side of the island.  It is flat and lightning fast and has been the site for many PR bike splits.”

 

T2: The ONLY thing here will be my run gear.. aka: running shoes & race belt. So no wetsuit/goggles/swimcap, since that’ll all be in my bag that they’ll bring over from T1. So. Hopefully a FAST T2 to go out for the run!

 

Run:

Screen Shot 2013-06-13 at 3.32.56 PM

 

I will be doing a 5k. This means that I’ll be running 3.1miles.. easy peasy! 😉 Something about running post bike/T2 gives me an adrenaline rush.. Hopefully that happens today too! I’ve done a few brick workouts that I end up running faster than I mean to, but I usually just go with it.. I hope that happens today too!

 

“The run is new from the previous 6 years but athletes have said they like the new one better so we are keeping it.  It will take you on the inside of the bike course so you are viewing the athletes on the bike as well.  It will take you by the great Scott Fountain as well as across several foot bridges.  Again flat and fast, with the Olympic course bringing all those athletes back by the finish line for lap 2 so everyone can cheer you on.

You will be running and riding on much of the Detroit Grand Prix and marathon courses. ”

Screen Shot 2013-06-13 at 3.47.35 PM

 

(Picture from Another Ultra-Crazy Year)

THEN I will finish.. Hopefully in one piece, alive, and stoked that I’ve finished my first sprint triathlon!

 

Stay tuned this week for my race recap!!

 

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget.. HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to all of you dad’s out there!! =]

One thought on “Today’s Race Day!!

Leave a Reply

