Mexican Style Paleo Meatballs

SO, remember that garden that I was so excited about?! Well, I decided to wait until next year when I could plant earlier.. So instead, this year I have a ‘garden’ that is all in planting pots. photo (26)

 

On Monday I went out to my garden and found that I had a few jalapeños that were ready to be picked.. I’m not one of those people that like to eat peppers plain (sad I know.. I’m working on it), so I had to figure out what to do with my new peppers.

photo 1 (32)

 

 

Beautiful aren’t they?? Well, I decided that I needed to make some meatballs.. I love meatballs because 1. they’re delicious and 2. when I make them it always makes enough for a few meals.. which I LOVE!

Ingredients:

1 lb chorizo

1 lb ground pork

1 yellow onion

1 egg

4  roasted jalapeños (to do yourself, cut in half & remove seeds then place on a cookie sheet at 350deg for about 20-25minutes)

1 8oz can tomato sauce (no salt added)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400deg F.
Dice onion (I do it like this and it’s perfect every time) & dice jalapeños. Mix all ingredients in a bowl with hands. Then shape mixture into golf ball-sized meatballs. Place meatballs in a glass baking pan (9″ by 13″ worked perfectly for me) for 20 minutes, then flip the meatballs over once and bake for another 20minutes.

Remove meatballs from oven then from pan. Pour tomato sauce over meatballs before serving.

 

Makes 20 meatballs.

 

photo 2 (31)

 

photo 2 (30)

 

 

Honestly DELICIOUS! You could probably add some more spices to the mix before making the meatballs but I forgot to and they were still DELICIOUS!

One thought on “Mexican Style Paleo Meatballs

Leave a Reply

