RACE DAY: The Experience!

WOOHOO! Another race day! Can you believe that it’s that time again, already?! I know that I can’t!! Well, let’s hope that I’m as ready for this one as I was for the last.. I haven’t gotten much (ok ok, who am I kidding.. ANY) swimming in since the last one.. So I’m just hoping that muscle memory takes over this time! But let’s check out the race, shall we?

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 12.35.11 PM

 

So this is The Experience triathlon in Frankenmuth! I’m super excited.. want to know why? Because I’ve never been to Frankenmuth.. CRAZY RIGHT?! They essentially set this one up so you have to check out Frankenmuth.. Race starts at 7:45am, then awards aren’t until ~5:30pm.. Sooo, what do you do between finishing and getting awards?! Check out Frankenmuth of course!!

 

So it starts at 7:45am.. that means that I’m going to want to be there at 6am.. So, I’ve already been at the race for an hour by the time this goes online.. Crazy huh? Yea, us triathletes are a bit insane.. My mom keeps asking me why I don’t pick a sport that has a late start time.. ha. whoops.. So 6am.. takes about an hour and a half to get there.. so yea.. I’m going to be the crazy one on the road by 4:30am.. just a bit insane..

 

Transition area will look like this..

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 12.35.56 PM

 

Swim comes in where that light blue arrow is on the top left.. then into the transition area that’s pink.. The swim is suppose to be just a down and back in the river in Frankenmuth.. Hopefully the fact that it’s a river will work to my advantage.. and by ‘advantage’ I mean that I can see a bit more and am not so freaked out in the open water.. Yea.. I need to work on that..

 

Then the bike will look like this…

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 12.35.30 PM

 

They say that it’s FLAT FLAT FLAT, so you can be that I’m going to KILL myself on the bike.. Give it ALL that I have so that I can make up for any lost time from the swim..

 

Then onto the run..

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 12.35.39 PM

 

Only one loop for me.. Doesn’t look too bad… I’m assuming that it’s just as flat as the ride, which is a good thing.. Especially when it’s the last discipline..

 

So goals:
1. Keep my cool in the water.. official temp was 72-73deg, so I’ll have added buoyancy from my wetsuit.. so “Stay Calm and Swim On”.. That’ll be my mantra for the swim.

il_fullxfull.399286377_b9v6
2. Ride the bike like it’s the only discipline that I’m racing… I know that I’m a strong cyclist, so I need to use that to my advantage.

433226068_640
3. Keep the run around 8:40pace.. I know that that pace is totally doable for me.. not to mention that it’s only 3.1 miles!

408389_10151381792957038_283247786_n

 

Well.. Wish me luck! I’ll tell you guys all about it next week.. Oh, and make sure to follow me on Instagram to get all of the real-time updates!

Leave a Reply

