WIAW #22.. Perfect Paleo Squash Casserole

So for WIAW this week I wanted to share with you guys the dish I made on Sunday that is getting me through NOT having to cook this week! I’m head up north with my boyfriend and some of our friends tonight and knew that this week I was going to need something that I could make one day and eat until Wednesday.. I’m weird like that and can eat the same thing for days!

But before I give you guys the recipe, we need to send some love over to Ms Jenn at Peas & Crayons for generously hosting WIAW every week!

 

Perfect Paleo Squash Casserole

photo 1 (43)

Ingredients

1 Spaghetti squash
1 Large zucchini
1 Onion
1/2 Green Pepper
1 Banana Pepper
1 14.5oz can diced tomatoes
1 6oz can tomato paste
meatballs

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Cut spaghetti squash in half, remove seeds with spoon, place cut side down on a baking sheet and allow to bake for 45minutes. To test if it’s done, use a sharp knife and try to push it (slightly) into the rind. The knife tip should go in with very little resistance. Once finished remove from oven and allow to sit to cool down.

While the spaghetti squash is cooling, turn the oven up to 400 deg. Shred the zucchini (I used the large end of a cheese grater), dice the onion & peppers. Put into a baking pan and mix. Once the spaghetti squash has cooled some (might still need to hold the hind with a oven mitt!) scoop into the pan. Then added tomatoes and tomato paste and mix. I put on gloves to do this (didn’t want to worry about the peppers on my hands then touching my face), which I found to be easiest.

Once the mixture is mixed put meatballs on top. I used frozen meatballs that I had, but you could do this with meatballs that you’ve made yourself too, or try my Mexican Style Paleo Meatballs!.. If you use raw meatballs make sure that they cook all the way through when cooking the casserole.

Bake the casserole for 40minutes. If using raw meatballs turn them at 20 minutes, but make sure to check them before removing the casserole to insure they’re cooked properly.

photo 2 (42)

There you have it! Perfect Paleo Squash Casserole!

 

Leave a Reply

