Easy Paleo Coleslaw

So despite the fact that we really haven’t been having ‘summer’ weather the past few weeks in Michigan, it IS summer! So that means that we have some fabulous produce from the farmer’s market that needs to be put into delicious dishes.. Not to mention that it’s nice to have delicious light side dishes when you’re cooking out, etc.

Well a few weeks ago I went to the Farmer’s Market and they had a coleslaw that I was very skeptical about.. Also, trying to follow a paleo lifestyle I had to look at the ingredients (well, that and most coleslaws have some type of dairy in them, and I cannot do dairy). Luckily for me, it was paleo friendly!

So, I’m making this to take up north with my boyfriend and our friends. We’ll be grilling all weekend, and I want a healthy side dish that isn’t potatoes or potato chips! So this side dish will allow me to have a healthy, pre-made dish to add to my plate. Not to mention that I don’t have to worry about turning on the oven to make it! Definitely a plus in the summer!

Alright, enough about talking about the recipe.. Let’s just get to it.

photo 1 (44)

Easy Paleo Coleslaw

 

Ingredients

1/2 head of cabbage (green or red, but I enjoy green red), cut very thin
2 handfuls of baby carrots, shredded (or three big carrots)
1 apple, shredded (whatever you have will work)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice (or juice of one lemon)
Seasoning (optional): ginger or cinnamon

 

Directions

Place the vegetables together and mix, then add the EVOO, lemon juice, & seasoning and mix. Serve chilled.

 

photo 2 (43)

Leave a Reply

