Future Ironman…?

This has been in my mind since Ms Cori over at Olive To Run told us that she’s signed up for Ironman 70.3 Raleigh.. I NEED to race an Ironman!

Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.26.09 AM

 

So I’ve been stalking Ironman.com in search of the perfect Ironman 70.3 to do.. But before that, let me explain what the insanity of an Ironman is.

Alright, so there are TWO distances in an Ironman, one that we call the “Full” Ironman (IM), then the “Half” Ironman (HIM). I’m looking at doing a HIM which is the 70.3 distance.. So let’s talk about how those 70.3 miles breakdown.

 

The Swim

2008-11-23-ironman-swim-52377

 

So as part of an IM or HIM you’re putting yourself in a lake/ocean/sea/body of water with MANY other swimmers.. Where you’ll likely be kicked, pulled, grabbed, hit, smacked, etc. Yes, we do this willingly.. I should note that this is the same with ANY triathlon, however in something as big as an IM or HIM it’s likely to happen a bit more. (My waves weren’t usually bigger than 40 people at a time this year.)

So, as part of a HIM I would be swimming 1.2 miles. Yes, ONE point TWO miles! So that’s the equivalent of 21.12 American football fields.. Don’t believe me? Google says I’m right.

Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.35.36 AM

 

Like I said.. 21.12 football fields! So yea, you swim forever then you get to run out of the water and go to the next discipline..

 

The Bike

nut1

 

If I’ve said it once I’ve said it a thousand times, the bike is my favorite.. Except a HIM really takes it to a new level.. After you swim 1.2 miles you get to get on your bike and ride.. Wahhoo you say.. UNTIL you realize that that bike is going to be 56 miles.. Uh huh.. 56 miles.. that’s 4 miles more than the distance from Ann Arbor, MI to Toledo, OH. (As if you didn’t know I lived in Michigan before, you do now..) Oh, as if that’s not enough, you get to ride into T2 then go onto the NEXT discipline…

 

The Run

ironman-main

 

So the last (but definitely not least) part of a HIM is the run.. This run is a half marathon, 13.1 miles.. You know, sometimes when I get off of the bike in a race this summer I’ve told to myself, “Alright, you only have a 5K run left, you can do this..” Yea, I’m not really sure that that will work when racing a HIM.. I don’t think that telling myself, “You only have a half marathon left to do,” is going to be helpful.

 

So lets do the math really fast: 1.2miles + 56 miles + 13.1miles = 70.3.. Hence Ironman 70.3.
(Pst, multiple everything by two to get the distances for a full Ironman!)

 

Why The Insanity?

So the next question people ask, after I explain to them WHAT a HIM is, is WHY would you EVER want to do that? But to me, that’s an easy question.. And the easiest answer is, “Because I want to.” I know I know, that’s like your mom telling you “because I said so” but really, it’s true. I want to run a HIM, heck I want to run an IM but I’m not sure that my knees would be up for it.. Or my arms yet for the swim.. But yes, I want to run a HIM because I want to. Because I want the sense of accomplishment of finishing a race as long and as mentally and physically brutal as that. I want to know that at the end of the day I have my training (because you train for MONTHS for a race of this distance) will get me through to the end. Because I know that I CAN do it!

 

il_fullxfull.411112131_musv

 

 

So What’s Next?

As I’ve stated I’ve been stalking the Ironman.com website in search of the Ironman 70.3 that I want to do next summer, and I’ve narrowed it down to four.

Raleigh, NC: June 1st 2014
Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.55.07 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.52.12 AM

Muncie, IN: July 12th 2014
Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.52.28 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.53.11 AM

 

Racine, WI: July 20th, 2014
Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.53.23 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.53.32 AM

 

Lake Stevens, WA: August 17th, 2014
Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.53.46 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 9.54.08 AM

 

So there are perks of all of them.. But I’d say I’m leaning more towards Raleigh or Muncie.. I have to say that the DOUBLE out and back of the run in Racine just seems absurd to me! But Washington would be a nice vacation, however getting my bike there and back would mean flying it which is about $150 each way.. Where as Muncie or Raleigh I could drive to!

 

So there you have it! You all finally know how crazy I actually am!

not-crazy

One thought on “Future Ironman…?

Leave a Reply

