Life is too short…

So, I know that normally Wednesday is reserved for WIAW. However, today I needed to put out there what I’m really feeling..

 

sunset

 

I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus.. A student that was the same year of me in graduate school passed away on Monday and the department found out yesterday.. I didn’t know him THAT well, but our class was pretty close and we’d had a good number of conversations over the year. I think what’s really hitting me, and maybe some of the other (now) second years, is that it could have happened to any of us.

Let me explain. As much as we know now, he just collapsed. Wasn’t in a car accident, wasn’t doing anything unhealthy, nothing like that. He just collapsed. He was 24.

TWENTY FOUR! Only a year older than me! His wife posted on FB that she wasn’t able to tell him that she loved him one last time.. That hit deep.. It makes me want to call everyone I know and tell them that I love them.

life-is-too-short1

Ok, this post wasn’t supposed to get all sobby. It’s just that yesterday made me realize that life is too short. That you have to tell someone you love them when you know, because there might not be a tomorrow. You have to enjoy the little things and laugh more.

 

1703-Keep-Smiling-Marilyn-Monroe-Close-up

 

The student was a great person and he will be greatly missed! Remember to hug your family and friends whenever you can.

2 thoughts on “Life is too short…

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that 😦 Situations like this really put life into perspective and allow us to really cherish the time we have left with the people we love the most. Don’t ever let things left unsaid and never end the day on bad terms with someone… you just never know unfortunately. I love your positive attitude! Stay strong girl πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

