Race Day! Clarkston Back Roads Half Marathon!

WOOOHOOOO! It’s race day! Seriously, it’s almost like Christmas to us runners! MAYBE EVEN BETTER! I mean, Christmas doesn’t supply you with more medals for your wall!.. Ok, it might if you buy a medal off of ebay.. Yup.. that happens..

ANYWAYS! Race day! I don’t think that I’ve bombarded you all with enough talk about this half, so naturally I get to do it today so that you can read it all while I’m running! So let’s start with the basics!

Screen Shot 2013-08-28 at 3.53.56 PM

Name of Race: Back Roads Half Marathon and 10k

Race Fee: I was all excited because I found a half that gave out beer, a long sleeved tech shirt, and a medal for ONLY $45… but then I missed the deadline for the cheap price.. Either way, it was only $60 plus whatever the ‘fee’ is that they charge.. so basically $63 in total.

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 1.21.37 PM

Location: Clarkston, MI. Only 35minutes from me! This is obviously a plus, because driving an hour plus to run two hours, to turn around and drive an hour plus home is ISN’T something that sounds like fun to me!

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 1.23.32 PM

Course: I looked at another race for this same weekend but it was an out and back.. Seriously, who wants to do an out and back for a half?! Ok, I guess I can’t say much because I did a race that was 2.25 laps of Belle Isle in September, but still! Anyways, it’s “Back Roads Half”, so we’ll be running on a mix of pavement and gravel roads! I hope it’s beautiful!

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 1.24.17 PM

Race: I’m thinking that I’ll end up finishing with about a 10min pace. I haven’t done any long runs in a few weeks, I’ve been keeping to between 3 and 6miles, so I’m just going to let my legs tell me what pace to run. Plus, you probably know by now that some days I push out a 8:35 paced 5k, and other days I’m struggling to keep lower than a 10min paced 5k. So, that being said, I’m hoping to finish around 2hours and 15minutes. Race starts at 9:30am.. so, a little bit of math puts me at finishing around 11:45am. Sounds like a perfect beer/lunch time finish to me!!

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 1.34.38 PM

Race Forecast: If you’ve run ANY race, you know that as soon as race day is part of the 10 day forecast you OBSESS over it! Luckily for me, the projected forecast hasn’t changed much! Looks to be high of between 44-50, and partly cloudy!

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 1.40.45 PM

What to wear: And the other race day obcession!? What to wear of course!! Luckily ordered some Wildskin arm warmers that I saw Mommy Run Fast had on her blog on Sunday! I emailed the company and let them know that I was running a race on Sunday (one week from the day I ordered) and they priority shipped them to me!! I got them on Thursday and wore them on my 5k route, they were PERFECT! They will DEFINITELY be worn today!.. I’ll probably wear running tights, and a t-shirt.. Then bring warm clothes to change into afterwards!

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 1.23.43 PM

Post-Race: There is a post race party!! Basically, I’m just excited to have a beer (probably more like half of one depending on if we eat around there or if I have to drive somewhere for lunch) after the half! Seriously, I always WANT to have a beer post race, but for some reason even if the race that I’m at has it, I’m usually driving so I don’t.. BUT Sunday I WILL have my beer, even if it’s only half of it!!

Be sure to follow me on Instagram for updates on how the race went!

SO. Hope you enjoy your Sunday! And make sure to keep your eyes open next week for a race recap!

Leave a Reply

