Fight For Air Climb, In Loving Memory

Hey guys!

Let me start out this post with letting you know that I’m not one to ‘beg’ for money. Usually when I find a race that requires raising money I decide not to do it, even if for a good cause. I suppose that I find it hard to ask for money because I know that many people don’t have a lot of excess to give.

fightforairclimb

However, this cause is very close to my heart. I’ve decided to participate in the Fight For Air Climb in Detroit this year. It is March 2nd, and we will be running the stairs of the GM Renaissance Center.

DSCN3252

I wanted to do this run last year but I found out about it pretty close to the day of the climb, so I wasn’t able to participate. However, this year I’m ALREADY signed up (let’s count that as race number 6 that Brittany is already signed up for in 2014). Which means, that I have ample amount of time to get donations for the cause.

The donation part of this climb is a minimum of $100, with more obviously not being turned away.

Let me tell you why I decided that, despite the donation, I need to do this climb.

A few years ago my uncle was diagnosed with lung cancer. He was around 65 years old and had never smoked a day in his life. He was a very active person, we always used the joke that he could put an All-You-Can-Eat buffet out of business. He active, healthy, and loved his Alaskan life.

The way that I hear it, he was on a fishing(?) trip and was getting winded for, what seemed to be, no reason. Within days he went to the doctor and found out that he had stage three lung cancer. There was nothing they could do. He was dying. I’m pretty sure that he died within the month. (I try not to remember too many details, it was a sad time.)

My grandma had to bury her son. My mom and aunt had to bury their brother. My cousins had to bury their father. My aunt had to bury her husband. The whole family was devastated.

My uncle and his daughter

My uncle and his daughter

The climb is my way of fighting against lung cancer in memory of my uncle. You can bet that there will be tears when I finish the climb and will have “In Loving Memory of Uncle David” written on my back.

I know that you are under no obligation to donate. But if you would like to please go HERE to my personal page to donate.

Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

