Dreadmill of death..

Let me be frank, I HATE THE TREADMILL!!! It seriously could be on the government’s list of cruel and unusual punishment. I’m sure most of you feel the same, but let me tell you WHY I had to write to tell you.

This morning I got up at 4:43am to go to the gym. Goal: be to the gym by 5:30am to run 9 miles.. pretty lofty goal for a girl who can hardly run more than 2 miles on the mill. WELL, got to the gym early and jumped onto one of the ‘good’ treadmills.

Started running. My knee hurt. Slowed down. THEN the DREAD of dreadmill started to set in.. So I bargained with myself.. Alright, so 9 might be too much seeing as my knees hate the mill.. so what about 6.. alright, 6, I can do six.. THEN 2 miles hit..

And I swear it was the SLOWEST MILE OF MY LIFE!

MjAxMi02ZjllOTkwNjE1MDNhYTNj-1

I should mention that all this time I’ve been watching Despicable Me on my iPad, so it’s not like I SHOULD be bored, but I was. Next time I decide to do a treadmill workout I’m going to have to do one of those “treadmill interval” things to do.

30-Minute-Treadmill-Interval-Workout

So at 3 miles I called it a run.. 3 dreadful miles that felt like 12.. You know what.. Sometimes you have just to let go of the fact that it was an awful workout. And it was. But guess what. I STILL DID SOMETHING, which is always better than nothing at all.

So now I’m at work/school and will be going up north to enjoy the weekend. Not even going to bring my running shoes to tempt me. Maybe I’ll do some bodyweight workout when the guys are playing hockey?! Just need to remember that this is a LIFESTYLE of being healthy & fit, and missing one weekend isn’t going to derail me.

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND EVERYONE!!

One thought on “Dreadmill of death..

  1. That totally happened to me over my Christmas break, but I tried intervals and even incorporated some inclines and it was much easier, I think staring at your mileage makes it worse too! You could try covering it up with a shirt or magazine or something too!

Leave a Reply

