Martian Half Marathon Race Recap

Hello there everyone! So, this past Saturday I ran half #5 of the year! As you read on Saturday it was the Martian Half Marathon put on by Running Fit.

Screen Shot 2014-04-09 at 10.50.40 AM

Since the half was in Dearborn and it didn’t start until 8:45am I left later than I do for most races. That doesn’t mean that I wasn’t up early.. My alarm started to go off at 5:30am (also when my delay coffee brew was set to start), and I got up around 5:45am.

Per usual, I started the day with a bagel and some coffee.. Just watching TV and making sure that my body was ready to run before I left the house. Around 7am I headed over to my boyfriend’s place to meet up with the girls that I was going to run with, so that we could carpool.

We got to Dearborn around 7:40am and all of the lots were full. Luckily there was still a parking structure with parking spots so we parked there.. It was a decent walk away, but since we were so early it didn’t matter. Plus it was BEAUTIFUL outside, so I didn’t care.

I was debating what to wear because I didn’t want to be too hot or too cold. I decided on a running skirt, a t-shirt, with a long sleeve quarter zip overtop. I got too hot, but I suppose it was better than being too cold.

IMG_4882

Anyways. There was a HUGE row of porter-johns near the start line, so we decided to get in line before it got too long. Luckily too, because it DID get long!

Finally the race started at 8:45am. They were right on time according to my watch. And we were off.

To be honest, I hated the route. I will not do the race again because the route was BORING! I know I mentioned it on race day, but here is the route again.. It was worse than running around the lake at Stony Creek Metro Park. Honestly. I hated it.

Screen Shot 2014-04-09 at 10.51.02 AM

To be fair, I don’t think that with the amount of people that they had racing there was much else that they could do. But it was a boring out and back. Not until the last 2.5 miles or so was it the least bit interesting. The last bit was through UM Dearborn and on some nature trails, so it was pretty and had something to look at. While we were doing the out and back it was just boring and nothing to look at but the people in front of you.

It became slightly more interesting when people were finally running opposite than me (aka: the people that were ahead of me by X amount of miles). I was able to see my roommates boyfriend, one of the girls I rode with, a friend of Ferndale Area Runners, and then the second girl I rode with (in that order).. But I would have much rather had an interesting route.

Basically I learned that I HATE out and backs, especially if there isn’t anything good to look at. At least in the Winter Warrior Series it was in the country and there were things to look at.. Ok, I’m done complaining. Just make take on out and backs..

IMG_4877

SO anyways, boring until about mile 10.5. They got into nature trails. There were two bridges that we had to cross and depending on how many people were on it depended on if you left like you were moonwalking or not. The first bridge I was on with about 6 people and it felt like jumping on a trampoline, but the second bridge I was on alone and had no issues.

The last 2.5 also had some hills. Nothing huge, but if you’re not a fan of hills (especially towards the end of your race) beware! I like hills so I didn’t mind, but it’s just something to be aware of.

The last .5 miles or so were finally back on the roads. Busy roads at that. But they had it blocked off with barrels and police officers were patrolling the area too. Into the finish was a turn followed by a corral to the finish. It was pretty nice how they had it set up.. Plus the medals were awesome!

IMG_4878

I finished just under 2:08. Not my best, but seeing as I had just started T25 that Monday and had TWO leg workouts on Friday I wasn’t complaining. It FELT good, it was just slower than usual. Oh well. When you’re racing every other weekend you can’t expect to ALWAYS have a good race!

IMG_4881

All in all, I will not do the half at Martian again. The course for me was too boring and wasn’t enjoyable. However I’ve heard many people say that they love it, so I suppose you’ll have to check it out for yourself!

 

2 thoughts on “Martian Half Marathon Race Recap

Leave a Reply

