You have to want it.

So, lately I’ve been in a bit of a pickle. Let me explain.. It’s fairly simple actually. I want abs. In the worst way possible… I’m not talking abs when I flex.. I have some of those (4 actually).. What I want is a full set of abs at all times.. Easier said than done, right?

default

I know what you might be thinking. “Having XX body part isn’t going to make you happy.” “You workout, are thin/strong.. why the want for XX?” “You are healthy, why do you need XX?”

I get it. I really do. However, I want them, and it’s my decision to want them. The struggle though, is trying to get my body fat percentage down to an acceptable range in order to get said abs, with still maintaining my strength for crossfit.

images

I know a LOT of people in CF have abs. So this should be easy, right?! WRONG. And here is why.. My body and I constantly struggle with one another about what is a good diet to lose fat and keep/gain muscle. I’m aware that it’s extremely hard to do both at once, and that’s why bodybuilders go through a gaining period, followed by a leaning out period… Gain = weight (fat and muscle) gain. Leaning out = fat loss.

abs-are-made-in-the-gym-and-revealed-in-the-kitchen

Either way. I know that I have some abs under the fat that my midsection is so keen to holding on to.. But I also know that getting rid of that fat is easier said than done.

So what am I going to do? Well. As the title of this post states. YOU HAVE TO WANT IT. That means that I have to GO for my goal.. It means tightening up my diet.. (More lean meats, more vegetables, limiting myself to two fruit a day, getting correct portions of carbs.) As well as adding additional workouts to my day, in addition to CF.

I’m currently trying to add 3 or 4 second workouts days per week. Mostly cardio and abs, seeing as I do my weight training every morning… Cardio in the form of running and stairs. (Running is probably a good idea to keep on seeing as I’m running a half marathon in two weeks…)

tumblr_static_men-s-eat-clean-train-dirty-hoodie-black-text_design

The best part of all of this? My boyfriend is 100% supportive. (I mean, you should see HIS abs… 😉 ) This makes it so much easier in both eating healthy (he makes sure to have the freezer stocked with fish and broccoli) and with working out on the weekends (we may or may not go to the gym together on the weekends <3).

Sorry if this wasn’t of interest.. However this is a current struggle that I wanted to ‘come clean’ about, especially since I’m sure I’m not the only one in this boat.

wpid-facebook_1057341771

What are you working towards?! What do you have to add to your routine, or give up, in order to reach your goal?!

One thought on “You have to want it.

  1. While I’d love a solid six pack and all.. I’m happy with my two, sometimes 4 visible.. lol, but my man-friend is going through a similar phase right now. He had abs, but he’s hella stronger now without them.. I ask him, do you want your 8 pack? or do you want the 225# snatch you’re chasing?

    It’s definitely a battle, and I don’t fault you at all for wanting it, but also know that it’s going to take time for your body to adapt, and there are so many other things like sleep and stress that can have an impact too!

    Good luck with it, girlie!

Leave a comment